Clothing: What Do I Really Use?

We are getting the flooring in our bedroom replaced. Some water damage from our bathroom flowed through the adjacent wall of our bedroom and soaked into our hardwood flooring. It is a real b&%^h to fix. It involves tearing down our custom made floor-to-ceiling cupboard and storing the copious amounts of clothing, linens and other junk. And we cannot sleep in our bedroom. So our two bodies, a queen sized bed, furniture, any clothes we want wear and the disassembled cupboard need to hang out in one of our two girls’ bedrooms (along with them and their stuff).

Thank goodness we have a big and half empty attic, but the furniture and cupboard cannot fit up there. And who really wants to dig through the attic each morning for clothes? Not me. I bought two clothing racks to replicate the hanging space from our cupboard, but we are still basically surrounded by our stuff. It is one of my worst nightmares.

I donated as much stuff as I could manage, but I may do another sweep. We are halfway through the four week project and I realised that I basically wear the same three long sleeved cotton H&M shirts with a black H&M tank top under it, a fleece vest over it and a pair of jeans. That is my Mama Wear. My Work Wear is a sweater dress, tights and boots. And do my workout clothes count if I am not working out? I wear pajamas, socks and underwear too, of course. That’s it.

The girls could easily live with seven outfits. I think my husband has been getting by with five sweaters, five tee shirts, three pairs of jeans and one pair of dress pants. It is so tempting for me to donate the rest. And yet, it will feel equally as compelling to fill our cupboard right back up after is it rebuilt. It is such a hard cycle for me to break.

One thought on “Clothing: What Do I Really Use?

  1. Are there consignment stores over there? That is a fun way to get rid of clothes. Over here I take the kids’ clothes and my favorite consignment store offers store credit with an additional 10% savings if I redeem my store credit for merchandise. It is like shopping for free and I love it.

    Melissa

Leave a Reply

