Fried

Fifteen minutes might be a bridge too far tonight. We will see how it goes.

I am utterly fried tonight. I don’t know how else to explain it. My nerves are shot and my muscles feel melted. Sometimes engaging with people sparks so much energy and adrenaline in me that I am left completely rung out afterwards. I am an introvert. I know this for sure.

I had an interview today. It was challenging and engaging and energizing. On top of that, our littlest one kept us both up half the night with what remains of her chicken pox. By the time I got home from the interview, I was fried. I cycled to the interview. Yes, you read that right. I live in The Netherlands, remember? The brisk January air hit me on the ride home. Like the cold shower after a hot sauna, bam!

My mind was racing and my nerves were sizzling out. I needed a nap. My body refused to move, but my mind hammered on. It was a frenetic playback of the conversation in my interview. What I said. What I should have said. I annoy myself with this incessant internal nattering.

Thank goodness for television. I would have normally gone for a brisk walk in the park while listening to an audiobook, but my legs refused. Too tired. The television was enough of a distraction. It unplugged my brain just enough. The numbing was a sort of salve to my nerves.

Leave a Reply

