30 Day Meditation Challenge: Day 16

Core Power Yoga Sculpt by soaring bird
Core Power Yoga Sculpt by soaring bird

Method:

Simply Being App – 15 minutes, guided meditation, music

Thoughts:

Today I did a 15-minute guided meditation after trying out a new yoga dvd, Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown. Michaels really packs a workout into just 30 minutes. I found the workout more intense than the hour long Les Mills Body Balance class I take at our local fitness club. Yoga Meltdown is more of a cardio workout than a relaxation practice, but I am finding it easier to meditate if I have just done something physically active. The focusing required for keeping up with the movements in a class (or on a dvd) sweeps clean my thoughts. It is then easier for me to get in to a meditative mindset.

Meditation is the most difficult for me if I have just been sedentary in front of a computer or television. I found that out during this past week. Meditation has been difficult the past few days. My thoughts were really whirling at times. I spent a lot of time consciously bringing my focus back to my breath. It reminded me of chasing down my toddler over and over again when she does not want to get dressed.

I also signed-up for another meditation challenge beginning on August 5th. Oprah and Deepak Chopra are leading a 21-Day Challenge through Oprah’s Lifeclass Series & The Chopra Center. It has been a few years since I followed a program of Oprah’s like this. This topic, though, is timed perfectly with my current interests so why not give it a try? It is online and free.

One thought on “30 Day Meditation Challenge: Day 16

  1. I had a few tough days this week too.Will have to look more closely at what I am doing around the time of meditation. Thx for the link to the Oprah challenge. Didn’t know about this.

Leave a Reply

