In My Neighborhood: July 14

Today’s pictures are from the cook-in we had on Saturday with my husband’s parents. I am really trying to get as much use out of our newly renovated sunroom as possible. My husband, family and friends put a lot of work into it and I want to honor and enjoy that. For some reason, I feel like I now want to host more people for meals. And, thus the reason for the impromptu lunch with my in-laws.

And, as crazy as my mind works sometimes, it also seems like a good excuse to go to our local market. I love to sample all the fresh produce and seafood on offer there. It is all sold at a much more reasonable price, but it also means it comes in bulk. So that my tasty bargains don’t go to waste…we need to have people over to it. See how that works?

What did I make?

Well, to try to bring some summer to our almost constant rainy weather, I made two salads. Nothing fancy.

Watermelon, Cucumber, and Gorgonzola with Balsamic Vinegar Dressing

Watermelon salad by morethanexpat
Watermelon Salad by morethanexpat

Potato, Dill and Red Onion with Italian Dressing

Potato Salad by morethanexpat
Potato Salad by morethanexpat

From the grill, we had sea bass and shrimp. We topped it off with a bottle of Pinot Grigio. All and all…a nice meal.

Leave a Reply

