In My Neighborhood: July 10, 2012

Zaanse Schans Wooden Shoes by morethanexpat
Zaanse Schans Wooden Shoes by morethanexpat

I visited Zaanse Schans (not even going to try to pronounce), a mini theme park of what the Dutch are famous for – windmills, wooden clogs, cheese, etc. I took some friends there in mid-June when they were in town visiting from the U.S. It probably would have been a nice, quaint experience if not for the buckets of rain the sky dropped on us. I guess they got their typical Dutch experience after all.

This picture was taken at the Wooden Shoe Workshop. I bought my daughter her first pair of shoes – orange wooden clogs with white polka dots. My Dutch husband just rolled his eyes when I later showed him. I plan to hang them on her bedroom wall as a decoration for now.

Leave a Reply

