Family Travel: Lake District, England

E & I: Lake District by morethanexpat
E & I: Lake District by morethanexpat

Pre-mamahood, I had this fear that my world would get clausterphobically small. I thought, “That’s it. No plane travel for years. Only road trips to cheesy, overpriced amusement parks or all-inclusive hotels with bad food and piped in music so saccharin sweet I would want to punch myself in the face.”

Thanks to some like-minded friends and open-minded family, though, we are travelling more than we ever. Friends assured us that most travel is still within reach with a child. Expectations just need to be adjusted for the time being. No SCUBA diving with baby, for instance, but I still cannot wait to show E how to snorkel or see her face the first time she feels sand beneath her feet.

We just returned from Ireland and turned around three days later and went to The Lake District in England. We were lucky enough to be invited by friends with a daughter close in age to our’s whose family have a cottage near Ambleside and Lake Windemere.

The Lake District by morethanexpat
The Lake District by morethanexpat

I had seen some pictures beforehand of the countryside, but they really could not prepare me for just how gorgeous it is there. And we experienced it in the best possible way – by staying in a 300+ year old cottage that still had all of it’s charm, but is updated with modern furnishings.

I think my husband could have done with a little less charm in that it still had it’s original six foot high ceilings and was held in place with two huge horizontal wooden beams that extended about a foot down from the ceiling. He smacked his forehead so many times it just wasn’t funny anymore. But I just loved that feeling of walking back in time when you opened the picket fence gate.

Ben Fold Cottage by morethanexpat
Ben Fold Cottage by morethanexpat
Ben Fold Cottage Garden by morethanexpat
Ben Fold Cottage Garden by morethanexpat

We visited just before high season began which was perfect for us. The weather was a little chilly, but still nice enough to go out walking. Or we could load up the car and go for a scenic cruise (see Roman Road photo) or to a nearby town and not get stuck in traffic. On top of that, there are great pubs and restaurants as well as small, well-preserved towns just touristy enough to have all the things you’d want – grocery stores, a Boots pharmacy, name brand clothing stores, and a full-service spa. There is also a lot of great hiking…or so I hear. We did one easy hike and that was enough for me – see view from hike photo. Apologies to my friends and husband for my whining and tears that day. My husband carried E along that day in our Ergo Baby Performance Baby Carrier.

Lake District Rainy Day by morethanexpat
Lake District Rainy Day by morethanexpat
Roman Road by morethanexpat
Roman Road by morethanexpat
View from hike by morethanexpat
View from hike by morethanexpat
Leave a Reply

